Happy Thanksgiving!

I know I am one week early, and although we don’t celebrate this particular holiday over on my side of the pond, I would like to take this opportunity to wish all my American friends a very, happy Thanksgiving! I think it’s a great holiday, and in the spirit of gratitude I thought I would share with my readers the things for which I have been most thankful during my entrepreneurial journey.

 

Family and friends

The key figures in most people’s lives are family and friends. Those close few that truly support your every venture, help you through your toughest times and give you solid advice when you need it most. Ultimately, they are also the people that keep you relatively sane through the rocky road to success. Not only do they provide the emotional and physical support you sometimes need, but they also provide (often painful) financial assistance that can be crucial to your next investment. This support is not without sacrifice and shows a huge commitment and belief in future success and fulfillment. Your friends and family can also be the listening ear and even give you ideas and the feedback you need to reach your next phase and eventually succeed, after all they should be the people you trust most! So a big thank you to my friends and family for sticking by me through it all!

 

Mentors

I don’t feel I have ever had a ‘direct’ mentor – by this I mean someone I have met face to face and from whom I have sought advice over an extended period. However, I feel I have taken some of my most memorable and valuable advice from the authors of notable inspirational texts. For example, I would have loved to meet Felix Dennis, who wrote ‘How to get rich quick’ Felix is one of the authors who has most inspired me, and I see him as a mentor. I am thankful for his wise and encouraging words, along with those of other authors in the field. No matter the time, day or night, however, unsociable the hour, I can call upon the dog-eared pages of a favorite text and find solace, self-belief, and re-light that all-important spark of motivation.

 

My team

I have always tried to motivate and incentivize my team to ensure that they are happy in their jobs. As an entrepreneur, I know there comes a point when you can’t do everything alone, and you need the support of your team. This period is a daunting one, but your team, if well-supported and fulfilled themselves, will become loyal and trustworthy, and in turn begin to drive the success of the business. From then on, you will be safe in the knowledge that you can rely on them whenever you need them.

 

My clients and customers

My clients and customers have always been fantastic, especially in the early days. They gave me the chance to pitch my idea and understood what I could offer them in terms of business value, not just financial gain. The ongoing support and retention of a customer base allow a business to continue to grow and further succeed. Also, their wealth of advice can be crucial for those important next steps.

 

My blog visitors & Twitter followers

If you’re reading this post, then thank you! This year I created my blog and started to tweet again. In the space of six months, I have gained so much inspiring feedback and engagement from a wide variety of readers. I appreciate this hugely, and I will continue to update both my blog and Twitter in future. You can follow me on Twitter here: http://www.twitter.com/bradindigital (@bradindigital).

 

So one last note, a big thank you to everyone for helping me through my entrepreneurial journey, and a reminder to you to thank those who have been instrumental in your business and personal lives.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Leave a Reply

